HOW SHOULD TEACHERS BE PAID?

Education Week created a “round” table discussion on how teacher’s pay should be given out.  Six contributors including several teachers have weighted in with their ideas on how teacher’s pay should be tackled.

Arguments around changes to teacher compensation have been heating up all across the country. In Tennessee, for example, education officials just put a new plan in place that eliminates annual step raises given solely for experience and advanced degrees, asking districts to also consider factors such as test scores and whether a teacher works in a high-needs school. The state’s teachers’ union has come out firmly against it, saying it could lower teaching requirements and overall teacher pay.

Meanwhile, places like The Equity Project Charter School have experimented with innovative approaches to compensation, including starting teachers’ salaries at $125,000.

How do you think teachers should be compensated? Should “effectiveness,” leadership, degrees, and/or years served be part of the equation? If so, how? To what extent is differentiation in teacher pay feasible? How could teacher compensation change to better support student learning?

For more information http://blogs.edweek.org/teachers/teaching_ahead/how-should-teachers-be-paid/?cmp=ENL-TU-NEWS1hu

2 thoughts on “HOW SHOULD TEACHERS BE PAID?

  1. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m
    going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • Sure thing, I am using WordPress, they have a lot of free templates (also paid ones – you can do more customizing with paid ones). I became familiar with wordpress a few years ago when I made a couple of blogs for USC, so I just stuck with it but I can’t say anything about the others. I hope that helps?

Leave a Reply

